Kath J.
Free plan has changed
I used the free version of clockify for years, the functionality was perfect for my single user, multi-project time tracking. However, without warning or notice, the terms were changed overnight and nearly all the functions I had were blocked behind a paywall, rendering it virtually useless. I don't blame clockify for wanting to make money, and I got a lot of use out of the app for free for many years. What I regret is the way it was done without any notification to long-term users, so it came as a surprise and I was essentially locked out of 4 years of project tracking data without warning. I had to open a free trial period in order to export and archive my data history. I might have stayed and upgraded had the plan changes been introduced more gently and with better communications. But i've deleted my account and moved to another platform now.
Response from Clockify (by CAKE.com)Aug 14, 2026
Hello Kath, at least a month before the changes occurred, we sent in-app notification to all of the workspaces that are going to be updated to the new free plan. Our goal was to give users enough time to decide if they would like to continue with the usage of the app. Just like you mentioned, we were giving out free trials to users who perhaps missed the notification or it did not reach them. We are sad to hear that you have decided not to use the app anymore, but we completely understand your decision to do so under the circumstances. Cheers,



