Emily F.
Read the details before you commit!
I used Billshark through the PocketGuard budgeting app. I read up front that they take a 40% cut of your savings. What I failed to look into was how exactly they bill this. It's shocking to receive a bill in the HUNDREDS when you're trying to SAVE money. They ended up saving me money without canceling any services, although they were trying to do that at first and I told them I did not want any services taken off of our bills, I just wanted the reduction. And to their credit, they were able to do that. But the reduction periods can be for years, and they will bill you for 40% of the savings over those years! Fore example, they were able to save me $300 over the course of 2 years off my phone bill. So you get charged for 40% of YEARS worth of savings. They say just enough up front so that they can't be accused of the bait and switch, but they conveniently leave out details about how EXACTLY you will be charged. I also received a message saying they will re-negotiate for me automatically once the savings period is over. No thanks!!!!!! I had to email them asking them to not automatically renew this service. I feel trapped now and taken advantage of. I don't recommend using them.
Response from BillsharkNov 18, 2025
We understand how surprising a larger invoice can feel, especially when you are trying to save money. Since you enrolled through PocketGuard, you received our standard welcome email for each negotiation request you submitted, and I see all three were opened on the same day they were sent. Those emails explain how our fee works, including that we charge 40 percent of the total savings secured, capped at 24 months, and that the fee is billed once the negotiation is completed. You also mentioned concerns about services being removed; however, your negotiator followed your instructions and secured reductions without changing or canceling any part of your plan. The automatic re-negotiation you referenced is part of the service, and you can opt out at any time by replying to the notification or letting us know at any time, which you already did.



